Economic Development

Services: Economic Development Organizations

Contact: Sheldon Johnson, Executive Director

Address: 1400 S River St , Spooner, WI 54801

Phone: 715.635.2197



The Northwest Regional Planning Commission (NWRPC) was created in 1959 by local units of government of Northwest Wisconsin. It is the oldest planning commission in Wisconsin and one of the first multi-county planning commissions in the nation.

The Commission is a cooperative venture of Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, and Washburn Counties and the tribal nations of Bad River, Red Cliff, Lac du Flambeau, Lac Courte Oreilles, and St. Croix.

Our Mission

Working cooperatively with Counties, Local Units of Government, Tribal Nations and other regional organizations comprising the District, Northwest Regional Planning Commission will assist in improving and enhancing the economic conditions in the area to provide a positive economic impact and improve the regions economic prosperity.

Northwest Regional Planning Commission will be a leader in community development, coordination of government services, and educating the public on regional projects and impacts.

Northwest Regional Planning Commission serves the Northland, Duluth MN Superior WI MSA, Douglas county areas.