Services: Broadband Initiatives

Contact: Angie Dickison, Executive Director

Address: 332 Minnesota St , St. Paul, MN 55101

Phone: 651.259.7610




Border-to-border high speed Internet access is the goal throughout Minnesota. The Broadband Development Office helps Minnesota residents identify broadband options available to them. It also provides assistance to the Governor’s Task Force on Broadband and the Governor’s Broadband Subcabinet.

What is Broadband?
The term broadband refers to Internet connections that can transfer data and information (like web pages) at high speeds. Broadband service in Minnesota is delivered through the fiber and coaxial networks of cable providers; DSL service over the telephone network; optical fiber to the home or business; mobile and fixed wireless systems; and satellite connections.

Governor’s Broadband Subcabinet
The subcabinet, which includes the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development, the Minnesota Department of Commerce, and MN.IT Services (the state’s central information technology organization) is responsible for collaborating on state government-wide broadband policies.

Governor’s Task Force on Broadband
The task force develops policies to promote the expansion of broadband access in Minnesota. It’s responsible for developing an action plan for identifying and correcting disparities in access and adoption of broadband in all Minnesota communities – urban, rural, and suburban – helping to ensure that homes, schools, hospitals, and businesses have access to the technology and information resources they need to grow and thrive.

Broadband Mapping
The Broadband Development Office has a working partnership with Connect Minnesota to collaborate on broadband development statewide. Connect Minnesota has received federal funding to map broadband availability across the state, conduct research on technology usage and barriers to broadband adoption, and work to improve broadband availability across the state.

Minnesota Office of Broadband Development serves the Northland, Arrowhead, Duluth MN Superior WI MSA, Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis county areas.