Services: Associations

Contact: David Unmacht, Executive Director

Address: 145 University Ave W , St. Paul, MN 55103-2044

Phone: 651.281.1205


The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to promoting excellence in local government. The League serves its more than 800 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services.

Our Mission

The League of Minnesota Cities promotes excellence in local government through effective advocacy, expert analysis, and trusted guidance for all Minnesota cities.

Our Vision

We envision a future for Minnesota and the League where:

All cities are thriving, taking advantage of new opportunities, and successfully meeting ongoing challenges. The League continues to provide premier service to its members, and is recognized as the trusted, authoritative, and unified voice on issues affecting cities.

History of the League
The League of Minnesota Cities was founded in 1913 by a special law passed by the Minnesota Legislature. It was initially a part of the Extension Division of the University of Minnesota. In 1974, the League became an independent organization. Today, the League’s membership includes cities and their elected and appointed officials, as well as a number of special municipal districts and townships.

League of Minnesota Cities serves the Northland, Arrowhead, Duluth MN Superior WI MSA, Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis county areas.

League of Minnesota Cities